top of page


News & Articles

Confusion Caused by Trump's Executive Order

President Trump's "Muslim ban" executive order has 3 major components:

  1. Citizens of seven Muslim-majority nations - Iraq, Iran, Syria, Somalia, Sudan, Libya and Yemen will be prohibited from entering the U.S. for 90 days.

  2. Green card holders from any of those countries currently outside of the U.S. will need to report to a local U.S. consulate for "extra vetting," and admitted or rejected on a case-by-case basis, according to administration officials.

  3. All refugees will be banned from entering the country for 120 days. Refugees from Syria will be banned indefinitely.

As a result of the executive order, many people, including US permanent residents, were turned away at the US airports. There were panic and confusion at the US airports in the last two days.

Yesterday a federal judge in Brooklyn issued an emergency stay against President Trump's executive order, temporarily allowing people who have landed in the United States with a valid visa to remain.

Unfortunately, the victory is short lasting. Several hours after the court ruling, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and a senior White House adviser issued robust responses, emphasizing that the order remains in force. In a statement issued in the early hours of Sunday, the Department said: "President Trump's Executive Orders remain in place — prohibited travel will remain prohibited, and the U.S. government retains its right to revoke visas at any time if required for national security or public safety." However, DHS has now confirmed that all green card holders from the seven countries are allowed to enter the US on a special permission.

Is the DHS in violation of the court order? This is a constitutional issue, and it will play itself out in the new few months.

Consult Us

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Success! Message received.

bottom of page